Before I got very far into the books I decided "Growing Strong" was my favorite on a personal level. As in, I'd use that for a personal motto, whereas I'd really have no use for Fire and Blood in real life even though it's imminently kickass.
I think I'm the only one in the world who thought Wicked was boring.
I think I'm the only one in the world who thought Wicked was boring.
I also think you're the only one in the world who is a fan of this mysterious restaurant known as "?". Can't say I've heard of it, but it sounds interesting. :P
As for Wicked, I liked the musical version, but I thought the book was boring. Maybe it depends on the cast - I saw Kristin & Idina and definitely understood what the hype was all about.
And what do you mean, fire and blood NOT good in real life? Are you implying that you never burn or stab people IRL?? How do you manage to get through your day?
Though really, the only one I'd say applies to my own real life is "What the Hell"...or "We Do Not Sow"...but only if we change it to "I Can't Sew".
Restaurants, I don't know. There was this place called Noodle Garden that I was really fond of in college, but I don't think it's a famous chain or anything. I don't know if it was my favorite, but I had great and affordable food every time I went. I guess that'll be my answer. Generally I love Thai and seafood, also Indian but I'm a bit picky about Indian restaurants (a good one is a joy forever).
Oh that does remind me, when I saw Wicked we got the understudy for Elphaba, it was when Ana Gasteyer took over the role but she was sick on that night. I don't think that was my problem though, as I liked the understudy okay (not as good as Glinda), just the story didn't capture me (it was fun but not captivating to me). Then again maybe having the other lead would've made the difference? I've heard mixed feelings about the book.
Are you implying that you never burn or stab people IRL?? I'm not really allowed to any more :\
Yeah I'm big on saag panir, I love panir in general. Not as many people try south Indian food, have you? It's a little different, not as rich (though I love the rich stuff) but I would like to try it more, since I don't know it as well.
I have tried it, but only once. I'd say I enjoyed it just as much as I usually enjoy the "standard" Indian food, but it seems like South Indian places are considerably rarer.
Yeah you're totally right. Luckily for me my roommate junior year was south Indian and got a lot of care packages, I reciprocated as much as I could but she didn't care as much for north Indian cuisine so I got off easy on the producing/consuming trade-off. Which worked for me :P
Winter is coming will always be my favorite motto but the Martells do come close in the badassery department. I find Hear Me Roar a bit boring but the Lannister's unofficial motto is another story. A Lannister always pays his debts so much win that it's right up there with the eerie fatalism that makes the Starks so unique to me.
BTW, nice job working ASOIAF mottos into a general poll. We'll get new fans yet!
Well, the house mottoes depend on the situation, no? The Martell motto is one I associate with myself (and some of my former or actual bosses could confirm that LOL); when I'm angry I have a bad temper, hence Baratheon; I'm not exactly subtle hence Lannister and lastly I am loyal and reliable hence Arryn. :D
Swimming: Bikini topless mostly.
As for the musicals, I can't really recall a bad one right now.
Oh and I was kidding with the people buying LOL. But IMAGINE Dany having internet and buying her Unsullied on the net. *click here for purchasing large eunuch army* LMAO!
As for clothing and shoes I like to try them out first, so no.
And regarding the personal traits questions, we all have some of those in us. Ultimately I'd say honesty for myself, but the other option was too tempting. :)
So far I don't know you enough for determining a predominant trait, so I picked them all :D
Lol, hot! Though I guess that's pretty normal where you live? There are topless beaches in NY, but there tend to be no lifeguards on them for some reason, so I don't really go to them.
But IMAGINE Dany having internet and buying her Unsullied on the net. *click here for purchasing large eunuch army* LMAO!
Hahaha, that's one of the best things I've heard all day. :D
As for clothing and shoes I like to try them out first, so no.
My feelings exactly! I don't understand how people trust the interwebz to know what clothing/shoes will fit them well.
Crap, I hit the enter key before I finished my answers. D: I wanted to say that I haven't seen enough musicals to pick an awful one. Favourite restaurant a Croatian restaurant in Koblenz. Fairly priced, delicious food, full plates.
I've always loved "winter is coming" and can relate to it on a more personal level. I think "what the hell?" would end up being my family's motto, though.
no subject
Date: 2008-07-11 04:19 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-07-12 02:46 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-07-11 04:30 am (UTC)I think I'm the only one in the world who thought Wicked was boring.
no subject
Date: 2008-07-12 02:41 am (UTC)I also think you're the only one in the world who is a fan of this mysterious restaurant known as "?". Can't say I've heard of it, but it sounds interesting. :P
As for Wicked, I liked the musical version, but I thought the book was boring. Maybe it depends on the cast - I saw Kristin & Idina and definitely understood what the hype was all about.
And what do you mean, fire and blood NOT good in real life? Are you implying that you never burn or stab people IRL?? How do you manage to get through your day?
Though really, the only one I'd say applies to my own real life is "What the Hell"...or "We Do Not Sow"...but only if we change it to "I Can't Sew".
no subject
Date: 2008-07-12 02:59 am (UTC)Oh that does remind me, when I saw Wicked we got the understudy for Elphaba, it was when Ana Gasteyer took over the role but she was sick on that night. I don't think that was my problem though, as I liked the understudy okay (not as good as Glinda), just the story didn't capture me (it was fun but not captivating to me). Then again maybe having the other lead would've made the difference? I've heard mixed feelings about the book.
I'm not really allowed to any more :\
no subject
Date: 2008-07-13 02:02 am (UTC)100% agreement! Are you a saag panir (or saag paneer) fan? It seems to be a major favorite among various people on my flist (and myself).
I'm not really allowed to any more :\
Sounds like someone's a secret!Targaryen!
no subject
Date: 2008-07-13 02:18 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-07-13 02:41 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-07-13 02:45 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-07-11 05:47 am (UTC)BTW, nice job working ASOIAF mottos into a general poll. We'll get new fans yet!
no subject
Date: 2008-07-12 02:42 am (UTC)Thanks, dear. This is only the beginning. ;)
no subject
Date: 2008-07-11 07:55 am (UTC)Swimming: Bikini topless mostly.
As for the musicals, I can't really recall a bad one right now.
Oh and I was kidding with the people buying LOL. But IMAGINE Dany having internet and buying her Unsullied on the net. *click here for purchasing large eunuch army* LMAO!
As for clothing and shoes I like to try them out first, so no.
And regarding the personal traits questions, we all have some of those in us. Ultimately I'd say honesty for myself, but the other option was too tempting. :)
So far I don't know you enough for determining a predominant trait, so I picked them all :D
no subject
Date: 2008-07-12 02:45 am (UTC)Lol, hot! Though I guess that's pretty normal where you live? There are topless beaches in NY, but there tend to be no lifeguards on them for some reason, so I don't really go to them.
But IMAGINE Dany having internet and buying her Unsullied on the net. *click here for purchasing large eunuch army* LMAO!
Hahaha, that's one of the best things I've heard all day. :D
As for clothing and shoes I like to try them out first, so no.
My feelings exactly! I don't understand how people trust the interwebz to know what clothing/shoes will fit them well.
no subject
Date: 2008-07-11 08:04 am (UTC)I've always loved "winter is coming" and can relate to it on a more personal level. I think "what the hell?" would end up being my family's motto, though.
no subject
Date: 2008-07-12 02:45 am (UTC)